TEAR Model of Grief


Worden's (1991) model of grief argues that we have 'tasks' when we grieve. These include:

  1. Accepting the reality of the loss
  2. Experiencing the pain of the loss
  3. Adjusting to a new life without the lost person
  4. Reinvestment in the new reality.

The TEAR Model of Grief illustrates these four tasks of mourning.

TEAR Model of Grief

Key reading

  • Worden, J. W. (1991). Grief counselling and grief therapy: A handbook for the mental health practitioner (2nd edition). London: Springer.